Park Slope, New York

One of my projects that I have been working on for some time. It follows the lives of eight tenants in an apartment building in Brooklyn. Though they are all vastly different people, the stories of these people flow together in a beautifully spun novel.

At least that's what I'm attempting.

Each chapter of the story is told from the point of view of one of the tenants. At first, I was going to have each chapter basically be a short story, encompassing the story arch of each character. So eight very long chapters.

As I've continued writing, I'm wondering whether I should mix them up; have staggered chapters from different points of view. This would make so the novel would be broken into parts, with eight chapters each.

I know these people's stories so intimately. They're real, in my head. It's just getting their story from my head onto paper that I struggle with. I'm a good writer, but I have no formal training. Is there any way to be formally trained in writing novels?

Maybe I should take a Masterclass...